6 Winter Hat DIYs

Posted: November 1, 2012 in Other people bossing you around., Tutorials
Tags: ,

I live in Wisconsin, where a gal can never have too many warm hats. Or too much cheese. Wait, no, I’m allergic to dairy. So I can absolutely have too much cheese (e.g. “any”).  But hats? Oh, I’ll take ’em all.

Hat made from a t-shirt via At Second Street.

This one may not be super snuggly in its original design, but I’d imagine it could be made with an old sweatshirt rather than an old t-shirt. Either way, bonus points for creative reuse.

Another upcycled piece, this time using cozy sweaters. Isn’t that really what a hat is, after all? A sweater for your head? She lines it with fake fur, too. Mmmm.

Jill Sander Inspired Veiled Beanie from Crashing Red

I know. You’re thinking, “A winter hat with a veil? Whaaa?” And my answer to you is: Oh yes. And why not? No fashion is safe from a remix, and the beanie is long overdue.

DIY Brimmed hat from Tasha Delrae

A slightly different brimmed hat here, this time with a slightly girlier gathered top. I shall make one in skull print cuddle fleece.

Cupcake hat at Instructables.

Pie Popper at Instructables posted this tutorial for a cupcake hat. I’m over 30 years old and I still kinda want one. Imagine how fun it’d be to decorate!

Warm Winter Hat Pattern via From An Igloo.

From An Igloo is a Canadian blog, and Canadians know winter as well as we Wisconsinites do. So I completely trust that this hat will make my head feel snuggier than a mouse burrowed in an underwear drawer. AND there’s an option to add dinosaur spikes. I suppose I could make them for the kids, too….

Leave a Reply

